Knuffle Bunny: A Cautionary Tale by Mo Willems

Daughter’s age when read: 3 years old

My daughter is a huge fan of Willems’ Piggie and Gerald books for I was eager to try out his other books.  His Sheep the Sheep books were too young for Kaitlyn and she did not really get into those and the Pigeon books just left her silent but this Knuffle Bunny book was a huge hit.  Daddy brought little brother, 5 months old, to bed and we all read this one together.  Trixie isn’t old enough to talk yet when she goes with her daddy on a trip to the laundromat.  While helping him to load the dirty clothes in the washer her stuffed Knuffle Bunny accidentally gets left behind.  She frantically tries to tell her daddy but he doesn’t understand her gibberish.  In the end Knuffle Bunny is rescued safe and sound.

Kaitlyn cracked up when Trixie tried to babble to her daddy what was wrong and that made me laugh too because obviously we have gone through the same thing when my daughter was little.  I don’t know if it was the pictures, my reading or hearing his sister crack up but even our 5 month old was laughing up a storm during this book.  I was surprised to see even my husband craning his neck to see around our daughter to look at the illustrations and what was going to happen next.  My daughter has relegated this book to the group of “funny books” that she often refers to when she wants to read something.

If you are looked for a book with illustrations, humor and that will amuse the entire family you should pick this one up.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lisa Chao said,

    LOVE this book! As well as Knuffle Bunny Too, when Trixie is in preschool. There is also merchandising for the actual knuffle bunny plush doll, very cute.

  2. 2

    Lisa Langdale said,

    This is a great book! My daughter got it as a gift from our local library for completing their summer reading program! Such a fun/cute read!

  3. 3

    This is another one of those great books by Mo Willems. I agree on the Cat the Cat books, definitely made for very young readers. My Littlebug loves them, but she’s not even two years old yet. We also haven’t been able to get into The Pigeon books, though I really love them, kiddos – it’s a no go.

    The thing about this one though, I think, kind of like Elephant and Piggie, is that kids can really relate. I love how you mention the babbling thing, because we get the exact same reaction. So hilarious! Fantastic review!

  4. 4

    dsuzuki said,

    Lisa C.-I have to check out the other KB books now.
    Lisa L.-how cool! I’ll have to look for a reading program for my daughter.
    Danielle-I may try the Cat the Cat books when my son gets older.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

