Pinkalicious by Victoria Kann & Elizabeth Kann

Daughter’s age when read: 3 years read

I’ve heard a lot about this series and we read Purplicious and Goldlicious but my daughter did not really get into them.  So when Pinkalicious came in at the library for us I did not have high expectations but boy was I surprised.  My daughter loved it and found it hilarious.  She refers to it as one of “the funny books” and wants to read it every night.

It’s about a little girl who loves pink. She and her mom make a batch of pink cupcakes and she keeps eating them and wakes up the next day pink all over.  At first she is excited but after eating one too many cupcakes she ends up turning red. She does not like red and quickly embraces the remedy of eating as many green foods as she can to return to her normal self. She realizes after all this that she is beautiful just as she is.

I thought it was a cute story and thankfully my daughter is not one of those who loves cupcakes but she does love her green veggies but if you have a child with a sweet tooth I think this is a great story about moderation.  The illustrations are very whimsical and I think young girls will enjoy just looking through the pages as well as listening to the story.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lisa Chao said,

    Pinkalicious is the best of the series, probably because it was the first one and original. Purplelicious is kind of depressing. Goldilicious was lacking one of the sisters as the authors and it might be the reason the book itself lacked substance. It was really all over the place and I didn’t see any point to it.

  2. 2

    dsuzuki said,

    I agree. I thought Purplicious was kind of negative and Kaitlyn was just confused reading Goldilicious. I was disappointed when those came in at the library first. Glad we kept trying and read Pinkalicious 🙂

  3. 3

    Lisa Langdale said,

    Pinkalicious was the first book to come out. When Purpilicous came out I was so excited, only to be disappointed by it 😦 Because of that, we didn’t buy or read Goldilicious. But Pinkalicious continues to be a favorite in our house!

  4. 4

    This would be great for my son, in regards to the moderation bit. I was afraid when I saw it that it would be all about cupcakes and currently my son is obsessed (he asks me to make them everyday! why? I have no idea, because I don’t!). So, the fact that she goes back to the veggies is very good.

    Your daughter sounds a lot like mine though, she’s the opposite of my son and loves veggies more than sweets even. It’s great!

    Fantastic review! I may just have to pick it up for the kiddos soon!

  5. 5

    dsuzuki said,

    lol. Well it does end with Pinkalicious’s brother snarfing down the cupcakes so not sure how good that would be 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

