Llama Llama Misses Mama by Anna Dewdney

Daughter’s age when read: 3 years old

This book follows llama llama on his first day of school and how he adjusts to being lonely at first and missing his mama.  I forgot whose blog I saw this on but as soon as I read what it was about I had to go get it from my library.  My daughter started preschool this year and is a total mama’s girl so she has a hard time when I drop her off at school.  Initially when we read this book I think it actually made my daughter sad because she could relate to poor little llama llama.  I would try to help her relate to him that although he was sad and missed his mama there were a lot of fun things to do at school and he could have fun with all the new friends he made.  Now it’s become one of her favorite books and she tells me how things are the same or different from her own school.  I love the illustrations and that all the students and teachers are animals.  My daughter loves animals and she finds it funny that the teacher is a zebra.  Definitely a fun book with a great lesson for those just starting off at school.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ahhh…your sweet little girl! I’m dreading the school days, but I think my son will be one of those kids who runs away without looking back. 😦 My daughter on the other hand will probably be just like yours, she’s definitely a “mama’s girl”. So thanks for the tip! I’ll put it in our to-read pile for when she’s a bit older.

  2. 2

    dsuzuki said,

    I just found out this is part of a series. We just got Llama Llama Mad at Mama and people told me Red Pajama was great too.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

