I Will Surprise My Friend! by Mo Willems

Daughter’s age when read: 3 years old

This is yet another Piggie and Elephant book we picked up at the library.  Piggie and Elephant see two squirrels surprising each other and having a ton of fun.  They decide they want to surprise each other too but things do not go quite as planned.

To be honest while this one is cute it’s not one of my favorites but my daughter does enjoy it.  I really have to act out the scenes to make her laugh though and I think that is the main reason she likes it.  I think as she gets older and she understands more of what is going on she is going to enjoy this one a lot more.  We attended a wedding this weekend and this book was a life saver.  During the reception we read it over and over to keep my daughter and 4 year old niece occupied.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Isn’t it fabulous how a book can save the day?! Thus the reason I always have 3 or 4 with me at all times. They can definitely help.

    I’m glad you mentioned about this one not being quite right at your daughter’s age (and my son’s). I wasn’t sure about this one and I think I’ll hold off on buying this one for a bit because of your review. It still sounds really fun, but it’s actually nice to know there are some we can save for when he’s a bit older. 🙂

  2. 2

    dsuzuki said,

    Yeah, we are holding off on buying this one too. I do modify it somewhat for her and she still enjoys it but there are so many other ones that I want to get first.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

